1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Whose Faces are on Mount Rushmore?


Mount Rushmore
Burazin/Photographer's Choice/Getty Images
Question: Whose Faces are on Mount Rushmore?
Mount Rushmore is located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. It is a monument celebrating the life and achievements of four famous presidents. Interestingly, however, the original conception of a monument to be located in the Black Hills by Doane Robinson was to include sculptures of great Western figures like Buffalo Bill Cody. However, sculptor Gutzon Borglum helped Robinson realize that to have real appeal the sculpture should be more national in scope. Therefore, they chose four great presidents to be represented.
Answer: So whose faces are on Mount Rushmore?

The four faces on Mount Rushmore from left to right as you face it are:

Each was chosen to represent freedom and the growth of the United States as a nation.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.