1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Presidential Inauguration


5 of 10

Presidential Oath of Office - Presidential Inauguration
Dwight Eisenhower takes the Oath of Office as the President during his Inauguration

Dwight D. Eisenhower takes the Oath of Office as the President of the United States during his Inauguration January 20, 1953 in Washington D.C. Also pictured is former president Harry S. Truman and Richard M. Nixon.

National Archive/Newsmakers
After the vice-president is officially sworn in, the president takes the oath of office. The text, as set down in Article II, Section 1, of the US Constitution, reads:

"I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States."

Franklin Pierce was the first president to choose the word "affirm" instead of "swear." Additional oath of office trivia:

  • 1797 - John Adams was the first to receive the oath of office from the Chief Justice.
  • 1817 - James Monroe was the first to take the oath-of-office out of doors in Washington, D.C.
  • 1853 - Franklin Pierce was the first to use the word "affirm" rather than "swear" when taking the oath.
  • 1901 - John Quincy Adams, Franklin Pierce, and Theodore Roosevelt were the only presidents not to use a bible while taking the oath of office.
  • 1923 - Calvin Coolidge's father administered the oath of office to his son.
  • 1963 - Lyndon Johnson became the first president whose oath was administered in an airplane and by a woman.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.