1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

War of 1812

American History Timeline - War of 1812


James Madison, Fourth President of the United States

James Madison, Fourth President of the United States

Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, LC-USZ62-13004 Here is the official White House portrait of Andrew Jackson.

Here is the official White House portrait of Andrew Jackson.

Source: White House. President of the United States.
  • 1803-1812 - British impress approximately 10,000 Americans forcing them to work on British ships.
  • July 23, 1805 - British decide in Essex case that American traders who travel between neutral and enemy ports will allow for the seizing many commercial ships.
  • January 25, 1806 - James Madison delivers report concerning British interference and impressment of sailors causing anti-British feelings to arise.
  • August, 1806 - American minister James Monroe and envoy William Pinkney are unable to resolve the major problems between the British and Americans concerning commercial shipping and impressment.
  • 1806 - The British blockade France; American ships are caught in the middle, and the British seize approximately 1000 US ships.
  • March 1807 - Thomas Jefferson receives the Monroe-Pinkney treaty but does not submit it to Congress because it represents a dismal failure for the Americans.
  • June 1807 - The American ship Chesapeake is fired on by the British ship Leopard after refusing to be boarded. This creates an international incident.
  • December 1807 - Thomas Jefferson attempts "peaceful coercion" of the British with his embargo, but it results in economic disaster for merchants.
  • 1811 - Battle of Tippecanoe - Tecumseh's brother (the Prophet) leads attack on William Henry Harrison's army of 1000 men.
  • June 18, 1812 - America declares war against the British. This war is known as "Mr. Madison's War" or "The Second American Revolution."
  • August 16, 1812 - U.S. loses Ft. Mackinac as the British invade American territory.
  • 1812 - Three attempts are made by the U.S. to invade Canada. They all end in failure.
  • 1812 - The USS Constitution ("Old Ironsides") defeats the HMS Guerriere.
  • January 1813 - Battle of Frenchtown. British and Indian allies repel Kentucky troops in bloody fighting. The American survivors are killed in the Raisin River Massacre.
  • April 1813 - Battle of York (Toronto). US troops take control of Great Lakes and burn York.
  • September 1813 - Battle of Lake Erie. US forces under Captain Perry defeat a British naval attack.
  • October 1813 - Battle of Thames (Ontario, Canada). Tecumseh is killed in a US victory.
  • March 27, 1814 - Battle of Horseshoe Bend (Mississippi Territory). Andrew Jackson defeats the Creek Indians.
  • 1814 - The British plan a 3-part invasion of US: Chesapeake Bay, Lake Champlain, & the mouth of Mississippi River. The British are eventually turned back at Baltimore harbor. [
  • August 24-25, 1814 - The British burn Washington, D.C. and Madison flees the White House.
  • September 1814 - Battle of Plattsburgh (Lake Champlain). The US secures its northern border with a huge victory over a larger British force.
  • December 15,1814 - The Hartford Convention occurs. A group of Federalists discuss secession and propose seven amendments to protect the influence of Northeastern states.
  • December 24, 1814 - Treaty of Ghent. The British and American diplomats agree to return to the status quo from before the war.
  • January 1815 - Battle of New Orleans. Andrew Jackson scores a huge victory and paves the way to the White House. 700 British are killed, 1400 are wounded. The US only loses 8 soldiers.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.